Skip to content

Friday with a capital “F” and that stands for FINDS

March 25, 2011

Alright, if you don’t know me yet here’s a little insight for you. Not too many things make me happier than pulling sweet little treasures out of my cupboard when the teapot is boiling and it’s time to serve. And if you think I only do this when guests are over, you’re wrong. I get a cute little smirk from my loving husband when I offer him an evening tea and it shows up in a beautiful cup and saucer. But even more, nothing dresses up a Saturday morning in your long-johns and wool socks like grandma’s china. Am I dressing down the formal or dressing up the casual? I don’t know. You say tomato I say tomahto. Either way, I am excited to bring you the very first FIND here on reSide, featuring cups and saucers designed by Russel Wright

*photograph by Dan Bartz

On a trip upstate to Hudson, NY with my friend and fellow treasure hunter, Harrigan, we stumbled upon these cups and saucers by Russel Wright. Drawn, at first, by their warm, neutral color and the way they lent themselves to a sturdier version of the traditional tea cup, I could not stop myself from bringing a full set of 8 home with me. The shop owner wetted my curious appetite about the history of these cute little cups I would now call my own, and as I researched more about this Russel Wright character, I discovered more clearly why these ceramics were calling my name from those dusty shelves.

In an era when craftsmanship was reaching a level of perfect harmony between quality, functionality, and aesthetics, Russel Wright emerged in the 1920’s with lines of mass produced pottery and glassware reflecting his philosophy of “easier living.” Working in collaboration with his wife, Mary Wright, he produced a number of different food service sets offering one shape in several different colors. Some vibrant, some pastels, and some in muted neutrals. All have their place, but his American Modern cups and saucers in a cloudy grey glaze are the perfect mix of sophistication, modern style, and absolute comfort. As my generation, obsessed with anything “vintage” and “reclaimed”, enters their 20’s and 30’s (and for those of you who are still 25 at heart), these once casual ceramics, have replaced the formal tea or coffee services of old, by bringing a unique twist to the table and the perfect end to the young hosts dinner party.

Russel Wright's recognizable signature and trademark *photograph by Dan Bartz

My Wright cups and saucers live in my “every day” cupboards in the kitchen, and I take them out every chance I get. They’re great for serving coffee after a dinner party, for a cup of tea with a girlfriend, or even as small soup bowls when serving a first course.

*photograph by Dan Bartz

I love it when we coincidentally discover that there are reasons why certain things catch our eye from time to time, magnetized to the passions lying deep in our hearts. I found a revolutionary role model in Russel Wright and won’t be surprised if he pops up again in my home making from time to time.

I wish you all a happy Friday. Dan and I finally have a weekend void of crazy plans on the calendar. I hope this means more time to live and explore the home life, developing more experiences to share with you! Thanks for being here and for giving your feedback and spreading the word. It’s been a difficult month for developing content, but here’s to the close of March and a new month ahead.

Best, Annika

One Comment leave one →
  1. Harrigan Bowman permalink
    March 29, 2011 9:27 pm

    This post is so inspiring! I love how Wright worked with his wife Mary to create these amazing pieces, and I love the history on them–thank you for sharing! It was exciting to witness their becoming a part of your life as we stumbled upon them in the afternoon at the antique store; now, it is even more exciting to see how often they are used, and how much they add to the everyday experience! I agree with you, we might all need some beautiful tea cups and saucers… And your husband’s photographs–top notch! xoxo

Leave a comment