Skip to content

Southern Comfort

February 23, 2011

In NYC, there is a constant buzz of activity. Yesterday, a low of 18 degrees stopped no one. The clock races, the people whiz about their daily routines, barely stopping to take a breath or a proper lunch break. On any given day, I fall into this speeding current, unable to give a moment’s thought to the meal I’ll prepare tonight, or the relaxing moments I might spend with my spouse at home at the day’s end.

But today, we are in Alabama, where the time seems of a completely different breed. The days are slow and long. The time ticks by leaving several moments to breathe in the fresh air, enjoy a cup of coffee, go for a walk and enjoy a meal or two.

We are visiting my sister and her family for a few days in their new home and it is refreshing to get out and appreciate someone else’s home for a while.

Elsa snoozes the day away in the Alabama sun

My sister, Linda, and brother-in-law, David, have been busy fixing up a home in need of some TLC, and with a busy 2 year old, they’ve had their hands full to say the least. But still, in the midst of chaos, it is enjoyable for me to see how people nest and make a home even when it’s not quite complete. Below, I have shared some snapshots I’ve captured around her home the past few days. Enjoy, and happy Wednesday!

Fresh baked bread from the bread maker.

As Linda and I discussed, I’m not typically a huge fan of single use appliances, but having stopped buying bread all together, they are supporting their health, saving money, and producing delightful homey smells in the home on a weekly basis.

Cloudy blue shades in the guest room.

Shades of blue in the guest room were incredibly soothing and welcoming. The paint color is Behr Paints’ “Manhattan Mist” and a new favorite of mine.

A cupboard full of coffee and tea for mornings and afternoons at home.

I’m a big fan of coffee jars and tea tins. Coffee with chicory is a southern delight from New Orleans, where Linda and David spend Thanksgiving every year. Once used as a filler, the chicory adds an herbal taste to the coffee that many people prefer these days. I’m bringing a couple of bags of this coffee home with me.

My sister’s white dinnerware is stored on exposed shelves. Timeless and clean.

A tip for exposed shelves. Keep them clean, minimalist, and stick to displaying items of the same color that compliment the wall color behind.

An extra roll of toilet tissue in this feminine little basket is a great way to ensure your guests aren’t left hanging.

Side note: I love the old brass lever on this toilet. Brass fixtures are making a comeback and I’m a big fan.

The cow head had towel bar.

This cow has a lot of sentimental value in our family. A standard towel ring in Grandma’s kitchen, this one belonged to my mother, who felt it was out of style. Linda snatched it out of mom’s throw-away pile.

Vintage glass candlesticks

These vintage candlesticks were a gift I gave to my sister for Christmas. A great find at the Brooklyn Flea and a simple way to dress up the dinner table.

No comments yet

Leave a comment