Skip to content

Skulptur Fabriken, Light my Fire!

February 14, 2011

FROST Tealite Tablescape

Valentine’s Day is in full swing, and this year I’m thinking about adding some romance into my evening without a big production. Dan and I just returned from a weekend in DC, and after burning the candle at both ends last week and with a full week of work ahead, we are looking for ways to reset tonight.

I believe our homes should always display a sense of romance and sex appeal, and not just in the bedroom. At our home, we are all about romance in the every day and in every room. It makes us feel good and reminds us to take a few moments each day to be thankful for one another and appreciate our relationships with the people in our lives. So even if Cupid hasn’t struck in your life, its equally important to show yourself, your friends and your home a little love each day.

One easy way to do this is with candles. I try to have candles lit on the dinner table every evening. They’re just as perfect for take-out as they are for home-cooked food. That’s why I was excited that this tea light tablescape (pictured above) showed up in my inbox this morning — just in time for V-Day! They’re a great, casual alternative to candlesticks. They come from Skulpture Fabriken, a small boutique on the island of Gotland in Sweden. I’ve e-mailed them to inquire about pricing and shipping myself a few. If anyone wants in on my shipment, let me know!

For some readily accessible candles you can order online or pick up on your way home tonight, see below for my favorites. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Tapers

I always keep tapers on hand for the kitchen table. You can never go wrong with white, and a lot of designers say you should never use colored tapers. I couldn’t DISagree more, but if you’re going to go with color, make it right. The brighter and bolder the better! I like to pick hand dipped tapers. They tend to be higher quality and they often burn better and longer. My favorite places to go for colored tapers are Jonathan Adler and Fishs Eddy.

Le Labo, Santal 26

My favorite for the living room, the Santal 26 scent from Le Labo is “smokey and leathery.” With 60 hours worth of burn time and 100% soy wax, these beautiful candles are worth the splurge. The heavy glass is reusable as a pen cup or small bud vase.

Aveda Caribbean Therapy Soy Wax Candle

I keep a stock of these Aveda candles for my bedroom and bath. The Caribbean Therapy scent is very relaxing and sexy. With 50+ hours of burning and soy wax, its another great staple.

No comments yet

Leave a comment